Board & Committees

Responsibility for the organization and governance of the Excel Automotive Institute rests with the Board of Trustees. The members of this board exercise responsibility for the establishment of the basic policies that govern the organization, and meet on a regular basis to review the implementation of these policies. Board members are primarily concerned with the financial stability and the academic quality of the institution, and regularly review data that allow them to ensure that the organization meets the needs of the students and serves the public interest of the community.

Members of Board of Trustees:

John "Jack" Lyon, Chairman Emeritus

Katie Clark, Board Chair
Senior Vice President, RBC Wealth Management

5425 Wisconsin Ave.
Suite 301
Chevy Chase, MD 20815

Henry Schultz, Vice Chair in Charge of Operations   
145 Chollywood Dr.
Mooresville, NC 28115

C. Michael Brown, Member
Executive Vice President, API Source

4471 Nicole Drive
Lanham, MD 20706

Kieran “K.J.” Reynolds, Member
Vice President, FleetPro

1540 Canton Center Dr., Suite A
Baltimore, MD 21227    

William “Bill” Loope, Member
Executive Director of STEP, Inc.

Roanoke, VA

Kory Neal, Member
Vice President, K. Neal International

18970 Woodfield Rd.
Gaithersburg, MD  


NATEF board of advisors

Excel Automotive Institute has an advisory board consisting of professionals from the field and community representatives. The advisory board meets at least twice a year to discuss issues such as curriculum and community involvement. They also provide valuable feedback to the program faculty and staff regarding current trends and expectations in the automotive field. This year’s advisory board includes:

members of NATEF board of advisors:

  • K.J. Reynolds - Chairman, Fleetpro
  • Mark Wirtz, Enterprise Holdings
  • Peter Lemieux, Snap-On Tools
  • Sindiso Nyathi, Baltimore Schools
  • Demetria Harris, DC-DPW
  • Tim Montgomery, Curry Automotive
  • Antwane Peoples, Enterprise Holdings
  • Brian Swartz, Mazda
  • Steven Kurimchak, Enterprise Holdings